Big Read Events

All Library locations will be closed on Monday, September 1, in observance of Labor Day.

Signature Events

Speakers, author events, discussions and more

The American Royal Parade: A Star Spangled Salute
Sat. September 28, 2013 at 9:45 a.m.
Grand Blvd. from Pershing Rd. to Truman Rd.

Joining forces for the first time in Kansas City Big Read history, the Kansas City Public Library and the American Royal will mark the public kick-off of this year’s celebration of Charles Portis’ True Grit at the American Royal’s 88th Annual Parade.

 

Lady at the O.K. Corral: The True Story of Josephine Marcus Earp – Ann Kirschner
Tues. September 24, 2013 at 6:30 p.m.
Plaza Branch, 4801 Main St.
RSVP here
 

True Grit as True Grist for Exploration of the Western Novel – Tom Averill
Wed. September 25, 2013 at 6:30 p.m.
Central Library, 14 W. 10th St.
RSVP here

True Life, True Grit: The Uncrushable Rose – Bambi Nancy Shen
Sun. September 29, 2013 at 2:00 p.m.
Central Library, 14 W. 10th St.
RSVP here

The Sound of True Grit: Music Inspired by the Novel – Jeff Harshbarger and The Revisionists
Wed. October 2, 2013 at 6:30 p.m.
Plaza Branch, 4801 Main St.
RSVP here

True Grit and Black Women of the West: The Story of “Stagecoach” Mary Fields – Michael Searles
Fri. October 4, 2013 at 6:30 p.m.
Central Library, 14 W. 10th St.
RSVP here

Saddle Up with Bluford: Tales from the Trail – A Little Big Read Family Event
Sat. October 5, 2013 at 2:00 p.m.
Bluford Branch, 3050 Prospect Ave.
RSVP here
 
 

Rooster: The Life and Times of the Real Rooster Cogburn, the Man Who Inspired True Grit – Brett Cogburn
Sun. October 6, 2013 at 2:00 p.m.
Central Library, 14 W. 10th St.
RSVP here
 

True Life, True Grit: Achieve the Honorable – Ike Skelton
Tues. October 8, 2013 at 6:30 p.m.
Central Library, 14 W. 10th St.
RSVP here

Meet the Past with Crosby Kemper III: A Conversation with Tom Bass
Thurs. October 10, 2013 at 6:30 p.m.
Central Library, 14 W. 10th St.
RSVP here

What True Grit (Might Have) Looked Like: The Photographs of F.M. Steele – Jim Hoy
Sun. October 20, 2013 at 2:00 p.m.
Central Library, 14 W. 10th St.
RSVP here

Mattie Ross: A Portrait of Feminist Heroism or Traditional Masculinity? – Jane Wood, Brenda Bethman, Crystal Gorham Doss & Adrianne Russell
Thurs. October 24, 2013 at 6:30 p.m.
Plaza Branch, 4801 Main St.
RSVP here

The U.S. Marshals: A Popular History of the Nation’s Oldest Law Enforcement Agency – Anthony Gasaway
Wed. October 30, 2013 at 6:30 p.m.
Central Library, 14 W. 10th St.
RSVP here

Exhibit

Photographs celebrating the mythology of the West