Book reviews

Across the Universe by Beth Revis

Across the Universe

Imagine a Star Trek-like story with a huge spaceship traveling across the galaxy in search of a new world. Now throw in a couple of teenagers and some frozen parents, and you’ve got Across the Universe by Beth Revis

Winter Reading Book Review Video: City of Thieves

City of Thieves

David Benioff's novel City of Thieves looks at the epic Siege of Leningrad through the eyes of a sarcastic teenager named Lev tasked with finding a dozen eggs. As Plaza librarian Wes Hinman explains, it won't be easy. But it will be funny.

The Big Burn by Timothy Egan

The Big Burn

Major events can change the nation. Think the September 11, 2001, terrorist attacks or the bombing of Pearl Harbor. But as Timothy Egan shows in The Big Burn, less dramatic incidents can make a huge impact on American history, too.

Book Review: Motorcycles, Sushi & One Strange Book by Nancy Rue

Motorcycles, Sushi & One Strange Book by Nancy Rue

Have you ever enjoyed sushi overlooking the pristine beaches of St. Augustine, Florida? If the answer is no, you should definitely check out the upbeat young adult novel Motorcycles, Sushi & One Strange Book by Nancy Rue.

Winter Reading Book Review Video: Paris to the Moon

In the tradition of Hemingway, Adam Gopnik found himself an American in Paris in 1995, raising a baby and writing dispatches for The New Yorker. In her review of Winter Reading selection Paris to the Moon, Plaza Branch librarian Melissa Carle talks about Gopnik's "coming of age in the City of Light."

Kansas City Public Library Beta