Locate and read magazine, journal and newspaper articles about business, finance, economics, management, marketing and more.
Databases
Use databases to discover and read articles in newspapers, magazines, and journals. Access these premium websites for free inside the library or from home with a library card.
Business & economy | Jobs & careers | Non-profits
Business & economy
Databases
-
Library card required from home
-
As part of the U.S. Census site, American FactFinder offers a rich source of detailed data on population, housing, economics, geographic and industry statistics. It gives users the ability to create and customize maps, modify statistical tables, and save data in a presentation format. Because of the complexity of some of its capabilities, it also provides excellent video tutorials.
-
Library card required from home
Find profiles, statistics, and articles about industries and specific companies. Formerly called Business and Company Resource Center.
-
Library card required from home
Read scholarly articles about a variety of business topics. You can also locate industry profiles and SWOT analyses for individual companies.
-
Library card required from home
Produce comprehensive business and residential lists as well as detailed demographic reports. Assess business viability, perform market and site location analysis, create sales leads and/or marketing mailing lists, find potential sponsors and donors to grow a non-profit, prepare a small business plan and much more.
-
Library card required from home
Search worldwide publications and multimedia related to the topic of Entrepreneurship. Content ranges from the scholarly to a full toolkit of practical guides, templates, forms, sample business plans, and tips from successful entrepreneurs.
-
Library card required from home
Access thousands of downloadable legal forms, including state, federal, business, real estate and personal forms. Also use an attorney directory, arranged by state and practice area. A new feature is their Law Digest -containing summaries of all 50 state statutory laws, arranged in easy-to-use alphabetical topics and subheadings. Note: This resource used to be called Thomson Gale Legal Forms.
-
Library card required from home
Find up-to-date editorial content covering more than 40,000 public and non-public companies and 225,000 key executives. Hoover's delivers in depth industry analyses, information on a company's location, summary financials, top competitors, top officers, and more.
-
Library card required from home
Get online access to the most recent issues of the Kansas City Business Journal, special publications, and the Book of Lists.
-
Library card required from home
Read current newspapers from all over the world in their original full-color, full-page format. Just like reading a familiar print edition, you can browse articles, pictures, advertisements, and classifieds. It includes access to the current edition and up to a 60-day backfile for nearly 1,000 newspapers from 84 countries in 40 languages. Limited to 4 simultaneous users.
-
Library card required from home
Read articles from newspapers, magazines, and business journals.
-
Library card required from home
Listing of over 12 million businesses and 120 million residences in the United States. Businesses can be searched by name, line of business, geographic area and a number of other parameters. Both the Business database and the Residence database can be searched by entering a specific phone number or street address.
-
Library card required from home
Find profiles, statistics, and news articles about industries and specific companies.
Jobs & careers
Databases
-
Library card required from home
Create and save resumes and cover letters, research careers, and search for jobs.
-
Library card required from home
JobNow provides live help combined with online resources to guide you through the necessary tasks to get a job, including acing the interview, building a resume, and personality & career assessments.
-
Library card required from home
Prepare for entrance exams and certification tests by taking practice tests and tutorials.
-
Library card required from home
Read articles from newspapers, magazines, and business journals.
-
Library card required from home
Listing of over 12 million businesses and 120 million residences in the United States. Businesses can be searched by name, line of business, geographic area and a number of other parameters. Both the Business database and the Residence database can be searched by entering a specific phone number or street address.
Non-profits
Databases
-
Searchable database that contains citations to materials collected by the Foundation Center's five libraries as well as selected literature from other sources.
-
Available only at Central
Find grant money for your organization or research project. Search for foundations and other granting agencies in your field.
-
Available only at Central
This database is geared toward individuals and small organizations seeking grant money. You can read about specific grants, and learn how to increase your chances of success.
-
Find high-quality, scholarly articles about libraries and information science.
For additional information, contact an H&R Block Business & Career Center librarian by phone, 816.701.3717, or by e-mail, bcc@kclibrary.org.