Author Examines Truth and Deception in Old School at Kansas City Public Library

For Immediate Release:
April 8, 2009
Contact: Paul Smith
816.701.3668
Author Examines Truth and Deception in Old School at Kansas City Public Library

The Kansas City Public Library welcomes author Christie Ann Hodgen for a scholarly presentation complementing The Big Read called The Forked Tongue: Truth and Fiction in Old Schoolon Wednesday, April 22, at 6:30 p.m. at the Plaza Branch, 4801 Main St.

A National Endowment for the Arts initiative, The Big Read in Kansas City encourages residents to read, enjoy, contemplate, and enjoy the Tobias Wolff novel Old School throughout April and May.

Tobias Wolff’s novel is about more than a prep student’s literary aspirations. It is also a novel about the writing process itself. Essentially a work of realism, Old School’s treatment of the writing process brings to the novel a sense of the postmodern and the metafictional, in the tradition of Borges and Roth. This presentation examines how Wolff and his characters attempt to find truth by creating their own fictions.

Hodgen teaches creative writing and contemporary literature at UMKC and is author of Hello, I Must Be Going.

Admission is free. Call 816.701.3407 to indicate your interest in attending or you may RSVP online. Free parking is also available.

Through the combined efforts of the Libraries of Greater Kansas City, there are more opportunities than ever to join the Big Read. Visit our web site at www.kcbigread.org for more details.