Great City | Great Read - 2015 Family Events

Great City | Great Read offers a number of Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland events and activities that the entire family can enjoy. Both library systems offer special tea parties, costumed celebrations, birthday (and UNbirthday) parties for Alice, and special storytimes. Don’t be late for these very important dates!

Family Events & Activities

Alice in Wonderland Tea Party

Thursday, Oct. 1 | 7 p.m.
Raytown Branch, 6131 Raytown Rd.

Alice in Wonderland's Birthday Celebration

Tuesday, Oct. 6 | 10 a.m.
Platte City Branch, 2702 NW Prairie View Rd.

Mini-Mad-Hatter's Tea Party

Saturday, Oct. 24 | 10 a.m.
Kearney Branch, 100 S. Platte Clay Way

A Wild Haberdasher's Costumed Tea Party

Saturday, Oct. 31 | 2 p.m.
Blue Ridge Branch, 9253 Blue Ridge Blvd.

A Mad Hatter Tea Party

Saturday, Sept. 12 | 1 p.m.
Trails West Branch, 11401 E. 23rd St.

A Mad Hatter Unbirthday Party

Friday, Oct. 9 | 6:30 p.m.
Plaza Branch, 4801 Main St.
RSVP here

Dial-A-Story

In the spirit of Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland, The Kansas City Public Library’s Dial-A-Story service will feature familiar tales of delightfully odd journeys taken by unsuspecting characters. Simply call 816.701.3456 anytime between the weeks listed below to connect your child with a story of whimsical surprises in unusual places.

September 7–13
Alice in Wonderland: Down the Rabbit Hole by by Joe Rhatigan and Charles Nurnberg, illustrated by Eric Puybaret

Oct. 5–11, 2015
Why Mosquitoes Buzz in People’s Ears by by Verna Aardema, illustrated by Leo and Diane Dillion

Nov. 9–15, 2015
The Giant by by Nicholas Heller, illustrated by Jos. A. Smith

Wonderland Storytimes

Even the youngest readers and pre-readers can enjoy the wonders of Wonderland during storytime programs that play upon the themes and characters encountered in Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland. This early literacy journey down the rabbit hole includes picture books, music, fingerplays, and more.

For a complete listing of all MCPL Wonderland Storytimes, please visit mymcpl.org/alice.

Blue Springs North Branch
850 NW Hunter Dr.

  • Wednesday, Oct. 7, 2015 | 10 a.m.
  • Thursday, Oct. 8, 2015 | 10 a.m.

Lee’s Summit Branch
150 NW Oldham Pkwy.

  • Monday, Sept. 28, 2015 | 7 p.m.
  • Tuesday, Sept. 29, 2015 | 10 & 11 a.m.
  • Thursday, Oct. 1, 2015 | 10 & 11 a.m.

Blue Springs South Branch
2220 S. 7 Hwy.

  • Tuesday, Oct. 13, 2015 | 10 a.m.
  • Wednesday, Oct. 14, 2015 | 10 a.m.

Liberty Branch
1000 Kent St.

  • Tuesday, Oct. 6, 2015 | 9:30 & 10:30 a.m.

Boardwalk Branch
8656 N. Ambassador Dr.

  • Tuesday, Oct. 27, 2015 | 9:30 & 10:30 a.m.
  • Wednesday, Oct. 28, 2015 | 9:30 a.m.

North Oak Branch
8700 N. Oak Trfy.

  • Thursday, Oct. 22, 2015 | 10:30 a.m.

Grain Valley Branch
101 SW Eagles Pkwy.

  • Wednesday, Sept. 30, 2015 | 10 a.m.

Parkville Branch
8815 Tom Watson Pkwy.

  • Monday, Oct. 5, 2015 | 9:30 & 10:30 a.m.
  • Tuesday, Oct. 6, 2015 | 10:30 a.m.
  • Wednesday, Oct. 7, 2015 | 10:30 a.m.

Grandview Branch
12930 Booth Lane

  • Tuesday, Oct. 27, 2015 | 9:30 & 11:30 a.m.

South Independence Branch
13700 E. 35th St.

  • Wednesday, Sept. 9, 2015 | 10 a.m.
  • Thursday, Sept. 10, 2015 | 10 a.m.
  • Wednesday, Oct. 14, 2015 | 10 a.m.
  • Thursday, Oct. 15, 2015 | 10 a.m.

Storytimes at Kansas City Public Library locations:

Central Library
14 W. 10th St.

  • Tuesday, Oct. 20, 2015 | 10 a.m.

Trails West Branch
11401 E. 23rd St.

  • Wednesday, Oct. 21, 2015 | 10:30 a.m.

North-East Branch
6000 Wilson Rd.

  • Friday, Nov. 20, 2015 | 10:30 a.m.

Waldo Branch
201 E. 75th St.

  • Wednesday, Oct. 21, 2015 | 10:30 a.m.

Southeast Branch
6242 Swope Pkwy.

  • Tuesday, Oct. 20, 2015 | 10 a.m.

Westport Branch
118 Westport Rd.

  • Tuesday, Oct. 13, 2015 | 10 a.m.