## **COMMITTEE NOTES**

## Finance & Audit Committee Meeting Kansas City Public Library Board of Trustees March 20, 2012

The Finance & Audit Committee of the Board of Trustees of Kansas City Public Library, pursuant to official notification, met Tuesday, March 20, 2012, at 3:30 p.m. at the Fairmount Community Center, 217 S. Cedar, Independence, Missouri.

MEMBERS PRESENT:	David Mayta (Chair) Joan Caulfield Fran Daniel Olivia Dorsey Jonathan Kemper (ex officio)
MEMBERS ABSENT:	Claudia Oñate Greim
<u>STAFF PRESENT</u> :	Crosby Kemper III, Chief Executive Claudia Baker, Director of Development Pam Kannady, Director of Human Resources Cheptoo Kositany-Buckner, Deputy Director Heather Pedersen, Administrative Officer Debbie Siragusa, Chief Financial Officer

Mayta called the meeting to order at 3:33 p.m.

C. Kemper stated that legislation passed in 2008 (SB 711) mandates that the Library submit an informal projection of a nonbinding tax levy rate no later than April 8, 2012 and that the motion before the Committee would recommend to the Board that the Chief Executive be designated to informally project this rate.

Siragusa explained that the County is not required to provide the Library with numbers in non-assessment years, in which case the Library would use the numbers from last year for the projection, but that the Library would wait a little longer before filing paperwork in case the County does provide the numbers. Based on the current projections, C. Kemper stated that the estimated nonbinding tax levy would be set at 0.5000.

Motion by Dorsey to refer to the Board the recommendation of the Chief Executive and the Finance and Audit Committee to designate the Chief Executive to informally project the Library's nonbinding tax levy for tax year 2011 pursuant to the provisions of 137.243(1) RSMo (2010). Second by J. Kemper. Approved unanimously.

The Committee discussed the top three candidates for the Library's contract for audit services.

Motion by Dorsey to adjourn. Second by Caulfield. Approved unanimously.

The meeting concluded at 3:53 p.m.

David Mayta, Chair Finance & Audit Committee Date