## **MINUTES**

## Kansas City Public Library Board of Trustees Regular Meeting – March 17, 2020

The Board of Trustees of the Kansas City Public Library, pursuant to official notification, met Tuesday, March 17, 2020 at 4:30 p.m. at the Central Library, 14 West 10th Street, Kansas City, Missouri.

MEMBERS PRESENT: Jonathan Kemper, President

Claudia Oñate Greim

Laura Dominik Pete Browne Olivia Dorsey

Billie Howard Barnes

Susie Kenney Denesha Snell India Williams

STAFF PRESENT: Debbie Siragusa, Interim Chief Executive

Jessica Addo, Administrative Officer

Amanda Barnhart, North-East Branch Manager

Reed Beebe, Purchasing Manager

Melissa Carle, Director of Information Systems

Carrie Coogan, Deputy Director for Public Affairs and

Community Engagement

Mick Cottin, Operations Supervisor and Planner

Crystal Faris, Director of Youth & Family Engagement

Jerry Houchins, Director of Building Operations Joel Jones, Deputy Director of Library Services

Heather Pedersen, Executive Assistant / Manager of Executive

Services

OTHERS PRESENT: Matt Glawatz

Kent Munster Andy Gilmore Geoffrey Jennings

Kemper called the meeting to order at 4:35 p.m.

Motion by Browne to approve the minutes of the February 18, 2020 regular Board meeting. Second by Snell. Upon a roll call vote being taken, the vote was 9-0. Approved proprint of Board approved the Chairman and when high approximate would offer the contract of Board approximately the Chairman and when high approximate would offer the contract of Board approximately the Chairman and the Chairman

**unanimously.** (Note: As a matter of Board convention, the Chair votes only when his/her vote would affect the outcome of the vote. In all "recorded" votes, the vote of the Chair appears only when it has actually been cast and when it has had an effect on the disposition of the motion. Notations of "approved unanimously" mean all members, other than the Chair, voting affirmatively.)

Kenney arrived 4:39 p.m.

Motion by Howard Barnes to approve the Consent Agenda items before the Board. Second by Oñate Greim. Upon a roll call vote being taken, the vote was 9-0. Approved unanimously. The following items were approved as part of the Consent Agenda:

Move approval of the recommendation of the Interim Chief Executive to authorize the following expenditures for February 2020: Payroll (02/27/20 net cash \$300,133 plus taxes \$112,464) and (03/12/20 net cash \$253,319 plus taxes \$91,874) total amount of \$757,790; General Expense Payments including Checks (#2308-2573), in the amount of \$1,159,814. (LBM 4417)

Move approval of the recommendation of the Interim Chief Executive to accept the attached financial reports for February 2020. (LBM 4418)

Motion by Dorsey to approve the recommendation of the Interim Chief Executive to designate the Interim Chief Executive to informally project the Library's nonbinding tax levy for tax year 2020 pursuant to the provisions of Section 137.243(1) RSMo. Second by Howard Barnes. Approved unanimously. (LBM 4419)

Motion by Browne to approve the recommendation of the Interim Chief Executive to authorize the purchase of computers and peripherals from Dell EMC ("Dell") at an amount not to exceed \$135,000. Second by Snell. Approved unanimously. (LBM 4420)

Siragusa introduced Andy Gilmore of Lacy & Company who shared photos of the North-East Branch renovation. Matt Glawatz and Kent Munster from The Clark Enersen Partners, P.C. presented a virtual walkthrough of proposed furnishings for the North-East Branch renovation.

Browne left at 5:36 p.m.

Snell left at 5:39 p.m.

Siragusa discussed the Director's Report with the Board (LBM 4421) and provided an update on the Library's response to the COVID-19 Pandemic. Jones, Coogan, and Faris described current actions to ensure electronic materials, online Storytimes, and new Dial a Stories are available as well as efforts to partner with our community to provide information and access.

Kemper announced the induction of Howard Barnes into the Pembroke Hill Faculty and Staff Hall of Fame.

Motion by Dorsey to adjourn. Second by Dominik. Approved unanimously.

The meeting adjourned at 6:00 p.m.	
Secretary	——————————————————————————————————————