## **MINUTES**

## Kansas City Public Library Board of Trustees Special Meeting –August 7, 2018

The Board of Trustees of the Kansas City Public Library, pursuant to official notification, met Tuesday, August 7, 2018 at 4:45 p.m. at the Central Library, 14 West 10th Street, Kansas City, Missouri.

<u>MEMBERS PRESENT</u> :	Jonathan Kemper, President Billie Howard Barnes Rose Marie Bell Leon Dixon Laura Dominik Olivia Dorsey Claudia Oñate Greim Marilou Joyner Susie Kenney
<u>STAFF PRESENT</u> :	Crosby Kemper III, Chief Executive Carrie Coogan, Deputy Director for Public Affairs and Community Engagement Elizabeth Eddings, Administrative Officer Crystal Faris, Director of Youth & Family Engagement Joel Jones, Deputy Director of Library Services Kristin Nelson, Development Director Debbie Siragusa, Deputy Director of Administration / Chief Financial Officer Karen Weitzel, Director of Human Resources Steve Wieberg, Writer / Copy Editor Heather Zoellner, Executive Assistant / Manager of Executive Services
OTHERS PRESENT:	Kathie Allison, Friends of the Library Rodney Gray, Polsinelli Patrick Shami, TJP Strategies

J. Kemper called the meeting to order at 5:04 p.m.

**Motion by Dorsey to approve of** the recommendation of the Chief Executive to adopt and authorize the Board President to sign the attached resolution to authorize the Chief Executive to move forward with the placement of the following question before the voters on the November 6, 2018 ballot:

## KANSAS CITY PUBLIC LIBRARY DISTRICT LIBRARY QUESTION

For the purpose of renovating and replacing aging Library facilities, enhancing spaces, safety and programming for children, seniors and families, expanding services, access to computers and collections to serve public demand, and for the general operation of public libraries, shall the Board of Trustees of the Kansas City Public Library District be authorized to levy an additional eight cent (\$.08) tax over the present property tax for the free public library?

Second by Howard Barnes. Approved unanimously. (LBM 4291)

Motion to adjourn by Joyner. Second by Dominik. Unanimously approved.

The meeting concluded at 5:10 p.m.

Secretary

Date