Private Detective Mysteries

The private detectives in these novels feature women solving the crimes – from V.I Warshawski to Sharon McCone to Kinsey Millhone. For more books with these women on the case, check out their mystery series.

Related event:
Sara Paretsky discusses Hardball, Sept. 24, 2009

By Sara Paretsky
Chicago politics – past, present, and future – take center stage in Paretsky's latest V.I. Warshawski novel. When Warshawski is asked to find a man who’s been missing for four decades, a search that she figured would be futile becomes lethal. Old skeletons from the city’s racially charged history, as well as haunting family secrets of her own and those of the elderly sisters who hired her make an appearance.  Hardball is the thirteenth novel in the V.I. Warshawski mystery series.

A Trouble of Fools book jacket

A Trouble of Fools
By Linda Barnes
Private eye Carlotta Carlyle is approached by an old woman and asked to find her missing brother--and a missing cache of $13,000. She learns that the man in question had been a cab driver--and may have run guns for the IRA. A Trouble of Fools is the first book in the Carlotta Carlyle mystery series.

Edwin of the Iron Shoes
By Marcia Muller
When an elderly antiques dealer is murdered, Muller's popular P.I. Sharon McCone follows a killer's trail to a museum where San Francisco's most elegant socialites gather. Edwin of the Iron Shoes is the first novel in the Sharon McCone mystery series.

Louisiana Hotshot
By Julie Smith
New Orleans P.I. Talba Wallis doubles by night as the Baroness Pontalba, matron of the cafe society. While on the trail of a man who is seducing black teenage girls, Talba is haunted by disturbing memories of her past which emerge when violence enters her life. Louisiana Hotshot is the first book in the Talba Wallis mystery series.

Maisie Dobbs
By Jacqueline Winspear
Maisie Dobbs isn't just any young housemaid. Through her own natural intelligence and the patronage of her benevolent employers, she works her way into college at Cambridge. When World War I breaks out, Maisie goes to the front as a nurse. After the War, Maisie sets up on her own as a private investigator. But her very first assignment, seemingly an ordinary infidelity case, soon reveals a much deeper, darker web of secrets, which will force Maisie to revisit the horrors of the Great War and the love she left behind. Maisie Dobbs is the first novel in the Maisie Dobbs mystery series.

“A” is for Alibi
By Sue Grafton
A tough-talking former cop, private investigator Kinsey Millhone has set up a modest detective agency in a quiet corner of Santa Teresa, California. Eight years ago, Nikki Fife was convicted of killing her philandering husband. Now she's out on parole and needs Kinsey's help to find the real killer. “A” is for Alibi is the first book in the Alphabet mystery series.

More books by Sara Paretsky

Bleeding Kansas book jacket

Bleeding Kansas
By Sara Paretsky
Set in the Kaw River Valley, where Paretsky grew up, Bleeding Kansas is the story of the Schapens and the Grelliers, two farm families whose histories have been entwined since the 1850s. Today, the Schapen family, still terrified by the lawlessness of the 1970s - when Lawrence was among the most violent college towns in the nation - have turned to that old-time religion. They keep a close eye on all their neighbors, most especially the Grelliers, and take careful note of everyone's misdeeds. When Gina Haring, a Wiccan, moves into a nearby farmhouse and starts practicing pagan rites, the Schapens are so outraged that they begin a harassment campaign against the Wiccans.

Writing in an Age of Silence
By Sara Paretsky
In this powerful new book, Paretsky explores the traditions of political and literary dissent that have informed her life and work, against the unparalleled repression of free speech and thought in the post 9/11 era.

Indemnity Only
By Sara Paretsky
Meeting an anonymous client late on a sizzling summer night is asking for trouble. But trouble is Chicago private eye V.I. Warshwski's specialty. Her client says he's the prominent banker, John Thayer. Turns out he's not. He says his son's girlfriend, Anita Hill, is missing. Turns out that's not her real name. V.I.'s search turns up someone soon enough -- the real John Thayer's son, and he's dead. Indemnity Only is the first novel in the V.I. Warshawski mystery series.

Book descriptions provided by BookLetters.